Damage Done

After spending nearly all of my time & energy, over the last 12 years, making every decision based on what is best for my children, it absolutely floors me when others can’t understand what that means.

My ex-husband decided to have a sit down with our boys over Christmas break. He told them about how he cries every time they leave & “wouldn’t it be great if you could live here half the time instead of just weekends?”  When he told me about their conversation I was floored! We do not discuss changes that we want to make to the parenting plan with the children included in that parenting plan unless/until both parents have already decided to make those changes.  My children are both depressed, my 8 year old is borderline suicidal!  The stress & pressure that this sort of behavior puts on children is near abusive!  The X says that he honestly thinks that it is best for the boys.  I tried to get him to understand that there is a big difference between what feels good to our achy, “I miss my kids” hearts & what is actually in the kids’ best interest.  Selfish people shouldn’t breed, but then I’m the dummy who made it possible for him eh?

Published in: on January 23, 2010 at 12:06 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prappleye.wordpress.com/2010/01/23/damage-done/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment